Recommended Reading

What am I doing when I’m not writing my books? When I’m not working on growing my business, I’m reading! Below, you will find some of the books that I have read and enjoyed over the years. I hope you enjoy them, too!

Young Adult

Katherine A. Ganzel

I first met Katherine on a website called Wattpad, which is a Canada-based website for writers. When I first came upon her profile, we chatted a while and I started reading one of her stories that she was writing on there called The Boy in the Woods.

There is a version on Wattpad started on November 27, 2013, and Katherine published an expanded version on Amazon on September 3, 2018.

After Katherine wrote The Boy in the Woods, she wrote a prequel to the book titled, The Man Behind the Iron Fence, which details one of the characters’ life story growing up, to show you why he is the way he is in The Boy in the Woods. (I will be adding that here once I finish reading it again.)

The Boy in the Woods

After a devastating accident takes Jess’s parents, a cold and controlling uncle is the only family she has left. Ripping away everything she’s ever known, he takes her far from her home in the big city to live on the rural family estate. With a spoiled and stuck up older cousin the only other young person in the home, Jess struggles to adjust to her new life of loneliness and quiet isolation.

While exploring the woods surrounding her home one day, she stumbles upon a mysterious boy. Desperate for a friend, she’s instantly drawn to him, but he’s deeply distrustful and wants nothing to do with her. Sneaking into the woods to see him, she works hard to break through his walls and slowly gains his trust.

As time passes, their bond grows from forbidden friendship into something more, but the threat they’ll be caught looms closer. How far will Jess have to go to protect the boy she’s fallen in love with? Or will her uncle find out about them before she can escape his control?

The Boy in the Woods is a mysterious and poignant coming of age novel set in the late 1950’s, with the same classic feel as A Little Princess and The Secret Garden. As one of the top ten most read historical fiction stories on the popular reading website, it’s already loved by tens of thousands of readers. This compelling story is twice the length of the average young adult novel, and is appropriate for ages 14 to adult.

Margaret Peterson Haddix

I first learned of Margaret Peterson Haddix when I was in middle school, reading her Shadow Children series. I read the first book Among the Hidden, and I was enamored with the series. I was elated that there were four more books in the series!

Hooked on her first book, I couldn’t wait for the second book to come out. I enjoyed being able to be in their world for five books, to see how the world would be if the population had to be strictly controlled. It was interesting to see the perspective of how a world like that would be run.

The Shadow Children

The Shadow Children series is comprised of seven books:

  1. Among the Hidden
  2. Among the Imposters
  3. Among the Betrayed
  4. Among the Barons
  5. Among the Brave
  6. Among the Enemy
  7. Among the Free
The Missing

The Missing series is comprised of ten books:

  1. Found
  2. Sent
  3. Sabotaged
  4. Torn
  5. Caught
  6. Risked
  7. Revealed
  8. Redeemed
  9. Sought (eBook Short)
  10. Rescued (eBook Short)

Rick Riordan

When I was going through school, in sixth grade, my social studies class was on world religions. In some of the class, we talked about the Ancient Egyptians; Ancient Romans; and Ancient Greeks.

That class, those discussions, gave me a lifelong fascination with those three belief systems/cultures. When I heard that there was a book series based on the Greek deities, I was hooked. After reading the series, I wanted more. I was elated to see that this same author had written a series based on the Greek deities (and their Roman counterparts), as well as one based on the Egyptian deities.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is comprised of five books:

  1. The Lightning Thief
  2. The Sea of Monsters
  3. The Titans Curse
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth
  5. The Last Olympian
The Heroes of Olympus

The Heroes of Olympus series is comprised of five books:

  1. The Lost Hero
  2. The Son of Neptune
  3. The Mark of Athena
  4. The House of Hades
  5. The Blood of Olympus
The Kane Chronicles

The Kane Chronicles series is comprised of three books:

  1. The Red Pyramid
  2. The Throne of Fire
  3. The Serpent’s Shadow

Jean Craighead George

1919 – 2012

When I was a young boy, my father told me about one of his favorite books, My Side of the Mountain, which is about a boy who decides to run away from home to live in the mountains. I went to the library to check out the book and loved it!

After reading that book, I found that Jean wrote two more books like this one: On the Far Side of the Mountain and Frightful’s Mountain. On the Far Side of the Mountain is the sequel to My Side of the Mountain and the prequel to Frightful’s Mountain. It tells the story of how Sam’s family comes to live with him on the mountain, but they leave not long after they come up. Sam’s sister, Alice, stays behind and lives with Sam for the remainder of the novel. Sam also finds out that it is illegal to keep a member of an endangered species as a pet, so he must set her free. This leads into the opening of the final book in the trilogy, Frightful’s Mountain.

Frightful’s Mountain details how Frightful, Sam’s former pet falcon, attempts to reintegrate into the wild while still visiting Sam from time to time. In part of the novel, Frightful becomes mates with a male peregrine falcon and becomes the mother to his babies. She has to relearn how to hunt, as all she hunted previously was small game for Sam. She had to acquire a taste for food that peregrine falcon’s normally eat, such as ducks and other birds.

My Side of the Mountain

The My Side of the Mountain trilogy is comprised of three books:

  1. My Side of the Mountain
  2. On the Far Side of the Mountain
  3. Frightful’s Mountain

James B. Garfield

When I was a young boy, my father told me about one of his favorite books, Follow My Leader by James B. Garfield. I read it and found inspiration in the character, James, who was blinded in an accident later on in life, so he had to relearn just about everything in life. It showed me that, despite great challenges, people can come out on top and thrive.

Follow my Leader

Follow My Leader is about James, a young man who becomes blind after an accident. He must learn how to live life with his disability, and acquires a guide dog to help him do so.

Get a free sample of My Disability Doesn't Define Me!

Enter your details to have the Foreword, Introduction, and first chapter of my new book, My Disability Doesn't Define Me, sent straight to your inbox!

Success! Check your inbox!

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to content